Today, support for marijuana legalization has become mainstream among Democratic politicians, with some Republicans also supporting The idea. the movement to relax penalties for marijuana use took a new turn on October 7, 2022, when President Joe Biden said he would pardon all those convicted of the federal crime of simple possession of marijuana while calling on governors to take similar action to convict under state law.
Each state has its own dispensary licensing process, but in all states where marijuana is legal, businesses selling marijuana must be licensed by the state to do so.
In Colorado, adults over the age of 21 can possess and give up up up to one ounce of marijuana and can grow up to six plants per person, but residents can only grow a total of 12 plants regardless of how many people live there. However, it is illegal to smoke marijuana in public.
Retail purchases made at licensed dispensaries are subject to standard sales tax, plus a 10 percent sales tax on marijuana. A 1.5% excise tax is levied on the wholesale price of retail marijuana, which is the price businesses pay to growers.
In Washington, adults over the age of 21 can purchase and possess up to one ounce of marijuana, 16 ounces of marijuana-infused food in solid form, 72 ounces of marijuana-infused liquid product, and 7 grams of marijuana concentrate. It is illegal to smoke marijuana in public places and recreational users cannot grow marijuana at home.
Retail sales at licensed dispensaries are legal and a 37% excise tax is levied on these sales.
Alaska adults over the age of 21 can possess and give up up up to one ounce of marijuana and can grow up to six marijuana plants, but only three of those plants can mature. It is illegal to use drugs in public.
Retail sales at a licensed dispensary are legal. The state imposes an excise tax on the drug that the grower is responsible for paying for.
Adults in Oregon over the age of 21 can possess up to 1 ounce of marijuana in public places and up to 8 ounces at home. Adults may also consume up to 16 ounces of solid cannabis products, such as edible, or up to 72 ounces of liquid cannabis products. Adults can grow up to four marijuana plants. It is illegal to smoke marijuana in a public place.
Retail sales of marijuana are legal in licensed dispensaries and are taxed at a rate of 17%, and in some cases, cities and counties can impose an additional 3% tax.
It is legal for adults over the age of 21 to possess up to 2 ounces of marijuana and provide up to 1 ounce of marijuana to another person. Adult marijuana can also grow up to six plants, three of which can mature.
Recreational marijuana sales are not legal in the District of Columbia because congressional Republicans have been including language in appropriations bills that would prevent DC from establishing an independent regulatory commission. There are no licensed retailers, and DC's adult-use cannabis trade relies on gifting services.
In California, it is legal for adults 21 and older to possess, purchase or give away up to 1 ounce of marijuana and up to 8 grams of concentrated marijuana. Adults can also grow up to six live marijuana plants. It is illegal to smoke marijuana in public places and in vehicles.
Retail sales of marijuana at licensed dispensaries are subject to the standard state sales tax and a 15 percent excise tax. Local governments may also levy additional taxes on marijuana businesses.
Maine allows people over the age of 21 to use and possess up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana and to grow up to six flowering and 12 immature marijuana plants.
The regulated retail market begins operations in October 2020, but some owners are finding limited product availability. Maine imposes a 15 percent excise tax and a 10 percent sales tax on marijuana.
Massachusetts allows adults over the age of 21 to carry up to 1 ounce of marijuana on their person and up to 10 ounces at home. Home cultivation is also allowed: residents can grow up to 6 plants per person and up to 12 plants in a household of two or more people.
Sales at a licensed dispensary are legal. Sales are subject to the standard state sales tax, as well as a 10.75% state excise tax. Cities and towns may also impose a tax of up to 3% on marijuana sales.
Nevadans over the age of 21 can carry up to one ounce of marijuana and one-eighth of an ounce of concentrated marijuana. Adults can also grow up to six plants, or 12 plants per household. It is illegal to smoke marijuana in a public place or in a vehicle.
Retail sale is legal at licensed dispensaries and is subject to a 10% excise tax in addition to state sales tax.
In Michigan, it is legal for adults over the age of 21 to grow, consume, and possess marijuana. The law allows individuals to grow up to 12 plants in a household and allows possession of up to 2.5 ounces of the drug and 15 grams of concentrated marijuana.
In Vermont, adults over the age of 21 can possess up to one ounce of marijuana and can grow up to two mature and four immature plants per household.
Adults over the age of 21 may possess up to one ounce of marijuana and may grow up to six marijuana plants, but no more than three mature plants.
Marijuana sales in Guam remain illegal, but adults can give away up to one ounce of marijuana.
It is legal for Illinois residents over the age of 21 to possess 30 grams of marijuana, 5 grams of concentrated marijuana, and products containing up to 500 mg of THC. Adults who are not Illinois residents can obtain half of these amounts while in the state. It is still illegal to consume in public places.
Sales tax is based on how much THC the marijuana contains: marijuana with more than 35% THC will be taxed at 25%, while marijuana with less THC will be taxed at 10%.
New Jersey is one of four new states to support both cannabis legalization measures on Election Day 2020. Nearly 67 percent of voters approved a ballot initiative to legalize marijuana. Marijuana can only be used by adults over the age of 21. It authorizes the existing State Medical Marijuana Commission to regulate the recreational marijuana market and makes the marijuana trade subject to state and local taxes. on February 22, 2021, Governor Phil Murphy signed legislation officially establishing the state's recreational market, while reducing penalties for underage possession of marijuana and alcohol.
Montana passed two general election measures regulating recreational marijuana use on the 2020 Election Day ballot. One legalizes the possession and use of limited amounts of marijuana for adults 21 and older. The second would allow the state legislature to set the age for marijuana use and consumption.
Arizona allows limited use, possession, and cultivation of marijuana for adults 21 and older; prohibits smoking in public; establishes state and local regulation of marijuana licensees, and allows marijuana offenses to be expunged.
New York allows individuals 21 years of age or older to possess up to 3 ounces of marijuana for recreational purposes; establishes two regulatory agencies to oversee its sale and distribution, and clears the way for individuals convicted of marijuana-related offenses to have their records expunged.
Virginia allows Virginians 21 years of age or older to possess up to 1 ounce of recreational marijuana. and allows residents to grow up to four marijuana plants.
New Mexico allows adults 21 years of age or older to grow marijuana plants at home and possess up to two ounces of marijuana outdoors. Dispensaries licensed by the state can sell recreational marijuana. Home growers of marijuana can grow up to six plants per person, or a total of 12 plants per household.
In Connecticut, individuals 21 years of age or older will be able to possess up to 1.5 ounces of recreational marijuana, in addition to 5 ounces in their home or vehicle. The previous low-level marijuana offense will also be removed.
Rhode Island allows adults 21 years of age and older to possess up to one ounce of marijuana and grow up to three marijuana plants in a private residence.
Voter approval of Question 4 on Election Day paves the way for Maryland adults to possess and use marijuana as early as July 2023. Companion legislation passed by the Maryland General Assembly allows citizens to possess up to 1.5 ounces and provides a pathway to expungement and resentencing for those convicted of certain marijuana offenses.
Missouri voters approved recreational marijuana legalization on Election Day 2022 through a ballot measure that would limit possession to a maximum of 3 ounces. A registration card will be required for "personal cultivation," a 6 percent tax will be imposed on the retail price of marijuana, and citizens who have committed certain non-violent marijuana-related offenses can apply to have their records expunged.
For more information, please visit this link.
Copyright © QINGDAO KUSH PACKAGING CO., LTD. All Rights Reserved